The top 102 WTA players in the latest edition of the WTA rankings will receive direct entry to next month’s US Open, the United States Tennis Association (USTA) has announced.

Defending champion and World No.2 Naomi Osaka, who defeated Serena Williams in the 2018 US Open final, and World No. 1 Ashleigh Barty are among the 13 Grand Slam champions in the field overall, and the field includes five previous US Open singles champions.

Naomi Osaka wins 2018 US Open. Photo Roger Parker International Sports Fotos Ltd

Osaka and Williams are joined on the list by 2017 US Open champion and World No. 8 Sloane Stephens, two-time US Open champion Venus Williams, 2016 US Open champion Angelique Kerber and 2006 US Open champion Maria Sharapova.

Additional major champions this year’s field include a trio of former World No.1s in two-time Australian Open champion Victoria Azarenka, two-time Grand Slam champion Garbiñe Muguruza, and 2018 Australian Open champion Caroline Wozniacki, as well as 2017 French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko.

Svetlana Kuznetsova. Photo: Anne Parker International Sports Fotos

2004 US Open champion Svetlana Kuznetsova is the first player outside of the main draw cut, and will be the next player in should anyone in the current main draw entry list withdraw.

Coco Vandeweghe. Photo: Anne Parker International Sports Fotos

Two players are using a special ranking to gain entry into the main draw,  Americans CiCi Bellis and  former US Open semifinalist CoCo Vandeweghe.

Sixteen more players will gain entry through the US Open Qualifying Tournament, which is the centerpiece of US Open Fan Week, August 19-24, while the remaining eight spots will be wildcards awarded by the USTA.

The United States has 15 women for direct entry into the US Open’s main draw—the most of any country.


ho qualified





Leave a Reply