Andy Murray has dipped his toes into tennis politics, with the three-time Grand Slam champion elected to the ATP Player Council . The Monday announcement completed a re-boot of the body after Novak Djokovic stepped down as president over the summer.

Murray has long been a progressive voice in the sport, especially fervent about prize money equality for the WTA; and was for a time coached by fellow former major winner Amelie Mauresmo.

The ATP has been bogged down in politics this season, a situation not helped by the COVID-19 pandemic which truncated the season and resulted in a five-month shutdown from March-August.

.Elected along with Murray were Canadian: Felix Auger-Aliassime, Australian John Millman and Jeremy Chardy of France.

Auger-Aliassime, Chardy, Millman and Murray were chosen by fellow players to replace resigning members Djokovic, Americans John Isner and Sam Querrey plus Canada’s Vasek Pospisil, who is organising along with Djokovic a new player rights organisation.

Two-time Grand Slam finalist Kevin Anderson of Australian was elected president to replace Djokovic after previously serving as VP.


Leave a Reply