Kristina Mladenovic blamed the umpire for losing her first match to Laura Siegemund at the French Open on Tuesday.

German Siegemund cruised to a 7-5, 6-3 win but Mladenovic was furious with chair umpire Eva Asderaki for not spotting a double bounce on first set point.

A TV replay showed the ball bounced twice, Mladenovic slowed up and then touched the net, which automatically gave the point to Siegemund.

“Mistakes are human but I don´t see how the umpire can miss that. She didn´t see a double bounce,” Mladenovic said.

“Unfortunately she will continue at Roland Garros, and I won´t continue at Roland Garros.”

Laura Siegemund. Photo Roger Parker International Sports Fotos Ltd
Share:

Leave a Reply