Karen Khachanov has made his amends for his net-kicking outburst over a dodgy line call in Friday’s Antwerp quarter-final, which the Russian lost in three sets to Britain’s Dan Evans.

The third seed blew up as he found himself facing a set point after a dubious return by Evans which was called good to the dismay of Khachanov; one point later, a return wide from the Russian brought on the final set.

The lack of Hawk-eye electronic linecalling more than caught the attention of Khachanov, who screamed out his dismay at the ruling and then kicked the net end advert and hit at the referee’s chair with his racquet during the change of ends.

But 24 hours later, all had calmed after an apologetic social media post:

“It was a complicated and very emotional match. I spoke to the judge and he apologised for his mistakes,” the Barcelona-based player said.

“I also apologised for my behavior. In the end we are human beings and we make mistakes. I didn’t want to insult anyone or act in this way. 

“What happens is that I could not control myself at that crucial moment of the game.”

Evans won through into a semi-final against Frenchman Ugo Humbert.

Share:

Leave a Reply