The ATP has announced its nominees for the 2019 Awards, with Canadian youngster Felix Auger-Aliassime nominated for both Newcomer of the Year and Most Improved Player.

The current World No.17 heads an impressive list of nominees that includes Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Matteo Berrettini, Roger Federer, Rafa Nadal and Argentine Diego Schwartzman.

The winners ATP, including Fans’ Favourite, will be revealed next month.

Felix Auger-Aliassime of Canada in action at Wimbledon in July. Picture: Andy Cheung/ArcK Images/ Tennis Magazine


Comeback Player of the Year: The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP Tour.

Andy Murray
Andrey Rublev
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Stan Wawrinka

Italy’s Matteo Berrettini celebrates as he wins his US Open quarter final match in a fifth set tiebreak.  Photo Roger Parker International Sports Fotos Ltd

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who reached a significantly higher ATP Ranking by year’s end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.

Felix Auger-Aliassime
Matteo Berrettini
Daniil Medvedev
Stefanos Tsitsipas

Newcomer of the Year: The #NextGenATP player who entered the Top 100 for the first time in 2019 and made the biggest impact on the ATP Tour this season.

Felix Auger-Aliassime
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Miomir Kecmanovic
Corentin Moutet
Alexei Popyrin
Casper Ruud
Jannik Sinner
Mikael Ymer

Diego Schwartzman wins his fourth round match in New York in September. Photo Roger Parker International Sports Fotos Ltd

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
Diego Schwartzman
Dominic Thiem

Tournament of the Year: The tournament in its category that operated at the highest level of professionalism and integrity and which provided the best conditions and atmosphere for participating players.

ATP Masters 1000
ATP 500
ATP 250

The fans also get to vote for their favourites, with Rafael Nadal in the running. Photo: Roger Parker International Sports Fotos


ATP Coach of the Year: Nominated and voted on by fellow ATP coach members, this award goes to the ATP coach who helped guide his players to a higher level of performance during the year.

VOTED BY THE FANS Fans’ Favourite (Singles, Doubles): The singles player and doubles team receiving the highest number of votes from fans (voting closed 18 November).

Determined By ATP RANKINGS

ATP Tour No. 1: The player who ends the year as World No. 1 in the ATP Rankings.

ATP Tour No. 1 Doubles Team: The team that ends the year as World No. 1 in the ATP Doubles Team Rankings.


Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award: The person who has made outstanding humanitarian contributions. Previous winners include former South African President Nelson Mandela, Arthur Ashe, Federer, Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray and 2018 recipient Tommy Robredo.